Upon first reading Stein

“So I discover Gertrude Stein and all this stuff I thought was nonsense. She was one of the most brilliant people living at the time. I keep reading her work and think, ‘Why does it make me so uncomfortable? Is it because her syntax is all screwed up on purpose? Is it because she just repeats stuff and repeats stuff?’ Sometimes she’ll write a sentence using the most words possible and I think, ‘Get to the point, woman!’

One thought on “Upon first reading Stein

  1. I think perhaps she is trying to get such a particular point, a level of truth, that she has to go round and round but you’re right, very hard to read,

Leave a Reply

